Photo Gallery: University of Benin Matriculation 2016/2017


View the Image Gallery for the University of Benin Matriculation 2016/2017 Event.  Click Here 

The 2016/2017 matriculation ceremony of the University of Benin with its attendant glamour took place on Friday 3rd 2107, at the Akin Deko Auditorium with the new intakes holding processions from their different faculties to the venue. Before the arrival of the Vice Chancellor’s procession, the students were given a brief talk by Professor Mike Omoigberale.   

The matriculation oath administered on the students was brief and all embracing. It read thus: “On admission to membership of the university of Benin, Benin city, I solemnly and sincerely promise and declare, that I will pay due respect and obedience to the Vice chancellor and officers of the university and that I will

will faithfully observe all regulations which may from time to time be issued by then for its good order and governance.”

Thereafter, the Vice chancellor admitted the matriculants into the university in the following words: “in the exercise of the powers conferred on me by senate and all other powers enabling me to do so, and subject to your signing the matriculation register, I hereby admit you to full membership of the University of Benin. Congratulation!”

In his address, the Vice Chancellor congratulated the matriculants, noting that the school received a total of one hundred thousand applications from which only ten thousand were admitted. He urged the matriculants to count themselves lucky. He encouraged them to work hard to achieve their dreams, while warning them that the institution has zero tolerance for cultism, prostitution and other vices.

Members of the Vice Chancellor’s procession consisted of the Vice Chancellor, Prof. F.F. Orumwense, the Registrar, O.A oshodin (Mrs) who introduced members of the entourage as DVC Admin  Prof. J.O  Ehiorobo,  DVC Academic  Prof. Pius Iribhogbe, Librarian, Dr. (Mrs) Evelyn Idiodi, Dean, Faculty of Agric Prof. Bamikole, Dean of Arts, Prof. Otoide, Dean of Law, Prof. Inegbedion, Director,  Distance Learning Programme, Prof. Omoruyi, Director GST. Prof. Akpobi, Director ICT, Prof. Ekhaise Fredrick, Dean of students, Prof. Osadolor and Chairman University Admission Board, Prof. I.O Omoruyi.


About jioke

Add your Thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *