16th Annual National Conference of the National Association Musicologists – Gallery

16th Annual National Conference of the National Association Musicologists – Gallery

The event was held on the 14th of August, 2018 at the Akin Deko Auditorium and witnessed a lot of dignitaries which includes the Rep of the VC Prof P.E Iribhogbe, President of ANIM Prof. I.O Idamoyibo, Prof. Eddy Erhagbe; Dean Faculty of Arts, Prof (Mrs.) J.N Mokwonyei (H.O.D) Theatre and Media Arts, Rep. of the Deputy Governor of Edo State; Mr. Kingsley Ehigiamusoe (Chief of Staff), SSA’s to the Deputy Governor, The Iyase of Benin; Chief Sam Igbe, Sir Victor Uwaifo, the University Librarian and a host of others.

The event kicked off with the recognition of guests, national anthem, school anthem and the opening prayer. The opening speech was then given by the L.O.C Chairman/Convener who is also the H.O.D Theatre and Media Arts and also the welcome address by the Rep of the VC. Speeches were also given by the Rep of the deputy governor and the president of ANIM. The president noted that music is not just an art but science as well. He gave an illustration using antilog to find the notes on a piano, in that the piano was formed using mathematics.

The VC later unveiled the book written by the past president of ANIM. A short live performance was then given by Mr. Precious Omuku who thrilled the crowd and left them speechless with his melodious songs. The venue was packed full as both students and lovers of music were in attendance. Another short live musical interlude was also performed by Prof. M. Nzewi who brought back memory lane. A brief citation was then given of Prof. Charles Aluede who in turn gave the keynote address.

Awards were then presented to some ambassadors of music. The awardees include: Late Mr. Raymond Primrose Okerentie, Late Mr. Mc Anderson Igunbor, Prof. Pius Iribhogbe (DVC ADMIN), Sir, Rev. Prof .A.K. Achinivu, Comrade Philip Shuaibu, deputy governor Edo State, Chief Sam Igbe (the Iyase of Benin), Mr. Louis Enobakhare (Eno Louis) and Sir. Prof. Victor Uwaifo (M.O.N). The event then ended with the closing remarks and vote of thanks by the L.O.C Secretary; Mr. I .I. Akioya.