We are happy to announce that the Department of Theatre Arts, University of Benin (1978 – 2018) is 40 years old this year. In its 40 years of existence, the Department has established itself creditably, having produced outstanding Entrepreneurs, Managers, Media Practitioners, Lecturers and Internationally acclaimed Recognized Superstars and Musicians such as Richard Mofe Damijo, Dede Mabiaku, Nobert Young, Don Pedro Obaseki, Kabat Eseosa Egbon, Yemi Blaq, Patrick Uduak Obong, Aik Odiase, among many others.

Some ex-students in collaboration with the Department have proposed to commemorate the occasion with a grand home coming celebration tagged “UNIBEN THEATRE AT 40” to be hosted by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Benin. This event shall entail the celebration of the Department of Theatre Arts of the University of Benin’s achievements in its 40 years of existence from 7th through 9th December, 2018.